1 min read

37: Holding Pattern

I mentioned last week that the Chicago Indie Critics–my critic circle–is holding our 2022 awards ceremony this weekend. That ceremony happens tonight, and if you'd like to follow along, I'll be taking over their Twitter handle to announce winners as they're revealed.

I don't have much else to write about this weekend. I'm working on a piece about the Knives Out movies that I hope to share soon. More to come.


Thank you for reading. This post is free, so feel free to share it. If you have any thoughts, or just want to drop me a line, please get in touch. If you haven't subscribed yet, you can do that here. If you'd like to help support my work, you can upgrade to a paid subscription, which helps me keep the pilot light on and gets you an additional essay each month.

What I talked about:

This week on Seeing & Believing podcast, Kevin and I paired Kurosawa's Ikiru with the 2022 remake, Living. The Kurosawa is good–no surprises there–but the remake is nearly just as good, thanks to an elegant script by Kazuo Ishiguro and a lovely performance by Bill Nighy.

What I'm reading:

I'm supposed to be reading Infinite Jest (I made a pact with a friend to read it together this year), but this week I've been reading Phil Christman's How to Be Normal instead. Christman's book is a collection of essays that approach topics we tend to both take for granted and tend to be vexed by: how to be normal, how to be a man, how to talk about bad art. I'm only a few essays in, but it's the kind of writing I like to savor.