About

Dodgy (ˈdɑdʒi): Informal. Potentially dangerous; sketchy.

Boffin (ˈbä-fən): Informal. A person with knowledge of something complicated and obscure.

I’m Sarah Welch-Larson, a film critic living in Chicago. I write about the things that scare me a little: horror movies, theology, and sometimes myself. I’m curious about the messy depths of feminist theory and genre fiction and the business of being alive. If that sounds like something that interests you too, come join me in my little patch of the internet. Let’s go flip over some rocks and see what weird bugs we can find.

I send out regular roundups of what I’ve published elsewhere, whether in writing or podcast form, every weekend. I'll also include reviews or other thoughts about the art I'm engaging with. These issues are free.

If you'd like to help support my work, please consider becoming a paid subscriber, which helps me keep the pilot light on. Thank you for reading.